A Romantic Affair, Honeymoon In Kerala

 

From the day I started understanding the concept of marriage, I started planning for my honeymoon!

Come on, who doesn’t want a perfect honeymoon or may be those perfect honeymoon pictures, where everybody on social media sites will go gaga.

Last year my cousin went to Maldives, for her honeymoon. Those amazing beaches, picturesque sunset, I was a little jealous to be very honest.

Then I did some thorough research, I thought that why not choose some offbeat destinations in India. At the end of the day we all know, Incredible India!

As a travel enthusiast I have been to Rajasthan, Kashmir, even completed the Kumaon as well as the Himachal. So, I thought why not try ‘God’s own country’, Kerala.

The state is given that tag for a reason. I have never been to Kerala, but I realised that it has much more to offer, other than just coconut or temples.

The tea gardens of Munnar to the beaches of Kovalam or to rejuvenating Ayurvedic massages, Kerala is about all this.

Munnar is a traveller’s paradise not only for its landscapes but also the amazing tea. This place always experiences a very favourable climate, the temperature ranges between 17 degrees to 25 degrees. The lush green tea gardens, the fogs, the scene itself is romantic. What better than experiencing the same in your partner’s arm, right?

Even if you are getting married during the monsoons, don’t worry! Munnar, is a monsoon destination as well. It is also a shopper’s paradise with the spice market and the small tea-boxes, which can be a great gift!

                                   

tea-estate-607244_1920
Munnar Tea Estate by pixabay.com

But what if your partner likes sea beaches, Kerala has that as well. Though I will share the one beach that I liked the most and I thought can be a honeymooner’s paradise.

Kovalam, it is!

The small fishing town of Kerala, in her capital Thiruvananthapuram, is one of the most beautiful beaches of Kerala. It is India’s ‘only’ international beach.

The serenity as well as the beauty of this place attracted the Regent Maharani Sethu Lakshmi Bai of Travancore, who wanted to build her own beach resort away from the maddening crowd. The palace, Halcyon Castle, was built in the 1920s.

There are three beaches in Kovalam, Lighthouse Beach, Hawah Beach and Samudra Beach.

Tourists generally visit the Lighthouse Beach, then they generally prefer Hawah.

Among all the beaches, Samudra Beach is the most quiet of all.

I am sure, now, you know where to go!

The sunset here is a mixture of pink and orange, there are stalls on the beach selling fruit salads, what better than enjoying the sunset holding your partner’s hand munching on some fresh fruits.

beach-139888_1280
A beach in Kovalam by pixabay.com

                                       

There are a lot of places to go in Kerala, for your honeymoon, but these two is in my wishlist.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment